An OOV must be little package (less than one minute) which does not include any plan of the journalist, only still images and videos with voiceover commentating it.

When I have done it , I wasn’t very familiar with the specific requirements of this genre of news. Having looked at my work and step backed, I think that it’s a little bit long because an OOV should be between 30 and 40 seconds. Furthermore, an OOV must contain still images and I haven’t included that in mine. The purpose of TV is to bring a story to life with live reporting; though some elements are missing we can find some good ones.

I also have to say that it was one of my first go with the loan shop equipment, I had an EOS650 D camera and it was one of the first time I was using it, so I needed to get used to it, I think we can see it for example with the lights settings.

This first OOV was also very interesting on a practical point; it was the first time I got to edit, on my own. The first issue was the voiceover, at the beginning it was quite difficult to cope with my own voice. Then the practical part, I hadn’t really been trained before so I just discovered the software ‘Audobe Premiere Pro’ on a go, the aim is to grab the attention of the viewer, to whet his appetite. It’s storytelling, in an online article you would use narrative to articulate your message, here you would use images( symbols, icon) to convey a message. To make my OOV I have followed advice some advice I found in The Broadcast Journalism Handbook written by Hudson, G. & Rowlands, S. (2007:308-312)

  •  Edit first with your brain, then your ears, ten your eyes
  • Check your levels
  • Use mixes and wipes sparingly in news
  • Be wary of fading to black
  • Avoid jump cuts
  • Don’t cut on camera move
  • Cross fade sound between shots if necessary
  • Try using audio to introduce speakers before you see them
  • Feature natural sound always uses background sound.
  • Laying down the pictures before   voice over usually produces better films
  • Sometimes you need to record you VO   before you see the pictures
  • You need to know the pictures before scripting.

 

The editing interesting, it made me question about ethics. Throughout all the evening the musicians were very kind with me, asking me drinks and food. But I didn’t accept. A journalist must be impartial and to biased. It might seems very early to question about this topic but the sooner is the best. The reason why I refused all their treatments was because I was afraid that it could compromise my judgement. I referred to Keeble Ethics for Journalists (2009), indeed according to him, journalist are the mirror of the society this is the reason why we must act with objectivity, neutrality, impartibility and balance. My story wasn’t deep enough to touch the ethics editing but it’s a major concern, because while editing you can make anybody saying something he didn’t meant. For example, the footage of the current Algerian president Abdelaziz Bouteflika, after analysing the sequences of him, we realise that during the editing some plans have been added to each other to give the impression that he as actually moving although he is not. It’s a technique to make his people believe that he’s not weak physically and that he can be in measure to have the power.

 

